Goo.gl URL Shortener

10/19/10 – update – bit.ly now has QR codes – you have to dig into your stats to grab the QR code but they have it.  So for now I am back to my bit.ly account – Google listen up – I like to brand my links so hop on the band wagon and give me what I have with bit.ly and I will be a mighty grateful customer.

I traditionally use bit.ly for most of my URL shortening – but was recently informed that Goo.gl URL shortening was now available to the public…so I thought I would give it a try.

Pros:

Can get a QR code to go with the link – here is the QR for the story I originally saw the post on.

QR linked to original post

Now that is something I cannot get from bit.ly – at least not yet.

I like that it is linked to my google account – one less thing for me to log in to.

I really like the way it displays my clicks and all of the analytics that are associated with my goo.gl link.  Clean and simple!

Con:

The biggest one I can see is that I cannot “brand” or personalize my links like I can on bit.ly.  That is a huge issue for me – of course that could also change.  The ability with bit.ly to customize my URL is part of an SEO strategy, if goo.gl adopted this I would be an avid user of their service.

So I will continue at this time to use both!  When I want a QR code I will use goo.gl when I want to personalize I will use bit.ly

About thegeekymarketer

Part Geek - Part Marketer - Kim Kachadoorian is currently seeking to apply her talents to a new company! Check out www.geekymarketer.com for more information about me!
This entry was posted in Advertising, Analytics, Marketing in General, SEO and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goo.gl URL Shortener

  1. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  2. Davezilla says:

    Actually, you needn’t dig into stats to get or make a QR code from Bit.ly. Simply add .qr to the end of a Bit.ly link and it turns into a QR code on the fly. :^)

Leave a Reply

